USEFUL LINKS

 

anchor-chains_2637080

SKIPTON & CRAVEN HISTORY SOCIETY

 

USEFUL LINKS

 

USEFUL RESEARCH WEBSITES
TITLE WEB ADDRESS SUBJECT
100 Portal www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/first-world-war One-point access to many official WW1 documents
1914.org www.1914.org Imperial War Museum hub on World War 1.
Borthwick Institute, York www.york.ac.uk/borthwick/holdings/guides/research-guides/probate-courts Especially relevant to Yorkshire
British Association for Local History www.balh.co.uk
British Library www.bl.uk Maps, voters lists & lots of other sources
British Newspaper Archive www.britishnewspaperarchive.co.uk 9 million pages.Gradually adding local newspapers too.
British Surnames www.britishsurnames.co.uk Distribution of surnames across Britain
Carleton in Craven Local History Group www.carletonincraven.co.uk/local-history
Commonwealth War Graves Commission www.cwgc.org Graves in 23,000 locations and 153 countries
Cononley Local History Association www.cononleylocalhistory.com
Craven Museum & Gallery www.cravenmuseum.org
Cyndis List www.cyndislist.com/uk Good for initial research
Deceased Online www.deceasedonline.com Five of the major London cemeteries.Site developing rapidly.
Durham County Record Office www.durham.gov.uk/recordoffice
East Riding Archives & Local Studies Centre www.eastriding.gov.uk/leisure/archives-family-and-local-history Beverley
FamilySearch www.familysearch.org Working with other major sites to increase UK content online. Formerly k/a Latter Day Saints (LDS/IGI)
Farnhill & Kildwick Local History group www.farnhill.co.uk/farnhill-history.html
Findmpast www.findmypast.co.uk Ongoing partnership with Federation of Family History Societies
FreeBMD www.freebmd.org.uk Births Marriages & Deaths records
Gargrave Heritage Group www.gargraveheritagegroup.co.uk
General Register Office www.gro.gov.uk/gro/content/certificates To order BMD certificates online
Genuki www.genuki.org.uk A good guide to other archives
Grace’s Guide www.gracesguide.co.uk Guide to industrialist ancestors
Hearth Tax Online www.hearthtax.org.uk some hearth taxes but not all, try locally
Historypin www.historypin.org Enables people to attach photographs and memories to a global map, especially WW1 items
Huddersfield Heritage Quay www.heritagequay.org Wide range of 200,000 documents and artefacts relating to Huddersfield
Huddersfield Local History Society www.huddersfieldhistory.org.uk
Hull History Centre www.hullhistorycentre.org.uk Winner of archive sector’s 2013 volunteering award
Imperial War Museum www.iwm.org.uk Access point for all the various IWM sections
Ingleborough Archaeology Group www.ingleborougharchaeologygroup.org.uk
Keighley & District Local History Society www.kdfhs.org.uk
Lancashire Online Parish Clerk Prject www.lan-opc.org.uk Records of Lancashire parishes to end of 19th century. Maps & parish listings
London 19th Century Photographers www.photolondon.org Database 1841 to 1901
Mediaeval Wills www.medievalgenealogy.org.uk/guide/wil.shtml First point of reference for researching for mediaeval wills
National Library of Ireland www.nli.ie
National Library of Scotland Maps www.nls.uk/maps A fast-growing library of digitised maps
National Wills Index www.origins.net For researching pre-1858 wills. Not complete but the best place to start.
Non-Conformist Marriage Registers www.bmdregisters.co.uk Not exhaustive
North Craven Heritage Trust www.northcravenheritage.org.uk
North Yorkshire County Record Office www.northyorks.gov.uk/archives Good place to start but be aware of many boundary changes causing records to be held in neighbouring regions
Northern Ireland, Public Record Office of www.proni.gov.uk
School Records www.schoolrecords.org.uk Information about Victorian school records & access to individual organisations
Scotland, National Archives for www.nas.gov.uk
Scotland, National Records of www.nrscotland.gov.uk
Silsden Local History Group www.silsdenhistorygroup.co.uk
Society of Genealogists www.sog.org.uk Largest genealogical collection in the UK
Staffordshire Gateway to the Past www.archives.staffordshire.gov.uk
Teesside Archives www.middlesbrough.gov.uk/teessidearchives
The Gazette www.thegazette.co.uk Access to all issues and sections of the London Gazette
The Genealogist www.thegenealogist.co.uk
The National Archives www.nationalarchives.gov.uk Access to 32 million records held by 2,500 archives around UK.
Upper Wharfedal – Out of Oblivion www.outofoblivion.org.uk/upwharfedale.asp
West Yorkshire Archives www.archives.wyjs.org.uk
Workhouses www.workhouses.org UK workhouses
Yorkshire Archaelological Society www.yas.org/uk
Yorkshire Dales Landscape Research Trust www.cravenmuseum.org/archaeology/community-archaeology/
Yorkshire Film Archive www.yorkshirefilmarchive.com